Parts of old church to serve a new community

Date: 
06/29/2011
St.John

Ghostly remains of St. John of God Church*

Lee Bey's story and stunning photos about the "dismembered" St. John of God Church gives a glimpse of the churches previous grandeur via its current ghostly form. Though a Catholic church built in 1918 to serve Poles in the old Back of the Yards neighborhood on Chicago's south side is being obliterated there is good news.

At least parts of the church, shuttered since 1992, will be moved to the construction site of St. Raphael the Archangel Parish in Old Mill Creek, IL, where it will be able to serve another community. The new building with be able to seat 900 and meet the interests of parishioners who prefer that their new church "look like a church" instead of a modern building.

*Photo by Lee Bey from WBEZ site

 

Related:

Comments

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Insert images and media with <pp_img> or <pp_media>. See formatting options for syntax.

More information about formatting options