Rare voting opportunity for today's election day…get out and vote!


Today's Chicago election for mayor is the fourth in 100 years where there is no incumbent on the ballot, says Chicago Board of Election Chair Marisel A. Hernandez. With fourteen candidates, a Chicago first, it is unlikely that anyone will garner more than 50% of the votes cast. 

Thus, it is expected that April 2 will be the final election day for at least the Mayor's seat. If any other race is without a victory of at least 50% plus one vote cast, those races too will be on the April 2 ballot. 

With receipts of approximately 30,000 of the 100,000 absentee ballots issued, the final counts may not be known for a while. 

If you received an absentee ballot and have not mailed it in as yet, officials are urging you to vote at your polling place. 

If you are looking for where to cast your ballot, go to the Chicago Election Board site

Mayoral Race
Statistics released this weekend show how close the mayoral contest between the candidates, emphasizing how important your vote is. 

Bill Daley, Lori Lightfoot and Toni Preckwinkle were tied with 14% each. Not far behind were Susana Mendoza at 10% and Gery Chico and Willie Wilson both at 9%. The rest were:

  • Jerry Joyce--8%
  • Paul Vallas--6%
  • Garry McCarthy--5%
  • Amara Enyia--4%
  • Bob Fioretti-2%
  • Neal Sales-Griffin--1%
  • LaShawn Ford--1%
  • John Kozlar--0% 

The position of Chicago Clerk may be confusing on the ballot. Three names appear though only incumbent Anna Valencia, appointed by the Mayor in December 2016, is eligible. 

Patricia Horton and Betty Arias-Ibarra were challenged. They then sued and lost. Their only recourse is to take their fight to the Supreme Court. Thus they appear on the ballot. Any votes for them will not count unless the Supreme court ruled in their favor. 

A three way race, the candidates for City Treasurer are:

  • Melissa Conyears-Ervin
  • Peter Gariepy
  • Ameya Pawar  

In the Our Urban Times coverage area, two aldermen have no challengers in the election:

  • Brian Hopkins, 2nd Ward
  • Scott Waguespack, 32nd Ward 

The others are:

  • 1st Ward: Daniel La Spata and Proco "Joe" Moreno (incumbent)
  • 26th Ward: David Herrera, Roberto Maldonado (incumbent) and Theresa Siaw
  • 27th Ward: Cynthia Bednarz and Walter Burnett (incumbent)
  • 35th Ward: Amanda Yu Dieterich and Carlos Ramirez-Rosa (incumbent) 

Polls are open until 7 p.m. tonight…get out and vote and remind your neighbors and friends too!



Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Insert images and media with <pp_img> or <pp_media>. See formatting options for syntax.

More information about formatting options